Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 11th, 2009

#journchat LIVE
Monday, August 17, 2009
6:30 – 9:00 p.m. CST
7:30 – 10:00 p.m. EST

The mission of #journchat has always been to improve the relationships between public relations professionals, journalists and bloggers. Together we’ve created a safe environment to explore each industry and ultimately how social media is influencing all of us.

The goal of #journchat LIVE is to have simultaneous live events occurring at the same time around the United States (and elsewhere if time zones permit). We’ve spent more than seven months sharing our thoughts and opinions online. While this format may not change, it was suggested that we incorporate a face-to-face event.

@prsarahevans created this weekly chat and this is from her email to me.  I was urged to take control and be the #journchat Champion for Detroit.  So far I have emailed and through some of my connections received positive feedback on the situation and a warning.

I am new to Public Relations field but I do believe in collaborative learning and I have found my way around the digital landscape and am very active in the community.  I am active in PRSA Technology but still need to get into the game and call people to interview them.

I have never been a leader.  Normally, I would rather sit behind the sidelines and then add to the conversation.   I am conquering my fear of leading, doing something positive for Detroit, and am going to try and do it maybe with out a laptop.  Which is going to be hard because a Tweetchat screen would be great on a screen so people can see the syndication.

As I have said before this is going to be a challenge.  I haven’t worked in the industry really  long and I am trying to bring everyone together .  I have included radio as well.  I believe they are in this with us and maybe if they are on Twitter they can chime in too.  They are losing jobs at a frequency close to that of the newspapers and DJs are being replaced by voice tracks and MP3 files.  People are turning to their Ipods instead of the radio.

This should be an interesting thing if everyone shows up and is involved in the conversation.

Can you give me suggestions on how to make this a great event? What do you suggest for a first time event planner? HELP!!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,188 other followers